Ampara District, Sri Lanka

District of Ampara is located in south east of Sri Lanka and belongs to Eastern Province. Ampara District covers area of 4415 sq Km and according to the 2012 statistics the population iss 648,000. 43% of the Ampara District Population are Sinhalese, 38% are Sri Lankan Muslims and 17% are Sri Lankan Tamils. District of Ampara consist of 20 Divisional Districts, 503 Grama Niladhari Divisions and 4 Electoral Districts.

In early days the area of Ampara also known as Digamadulla . This is one of the major paddy producing district in Sri Lanka, visitors can see cascading paddy fields extend up to the horizon. This area gets rain mainly during the North East monsoon and used to store rainwater in tanks so they can have water for irrigation purposes throughout the year.

Ampara District Weather Condition:
Temperature in Ampara : The temperature of Ampra District vary from lowest value of 24 C to 36C. The average temperature is around 30C. December and January are the coldest months
Average Rainfall Ampara : 1400 mm. March to September is the dry season and rainy period is from October to February.

Deega Vapi Viharaya

Deega Vapi Viharaya is located not far away from the Ampara Town
More about Deegawapi Viharaya

Hulan Nuge Tharu lengala temple

Hulan Nuge, Tharu lengala temple is famous for two reasons. This temple has one of the oldest reclining Buddha statue made with clay.
More about Hulan Nuge Tharu lengala temple

Magul Maha Viharaya

Magul Maha Viharaya is located by the Lahugla National Sanctuary in the Ampara District. More about Magul Maha Viharaya